Hockey Pools revealed for Rio 2016 Olympic Games

The International Hockey Federation (FIH) have confirmed the groups for men’s and women’s events in Summer Olympiads XXXI. The world hockey governing council announced the pools officially after New Zealand men’s and Spain Women’s team confirmed their participation in Rio 2016 Olympics after FIH’s invitation. There will be 12 national teams will be participating in each Men’s and Women’s field hockey event at Rio.

Hockey Pools revealed for Rio 2016 Olympic Games.

Men’s Pools for Rio 2016

Men’s hockey title defending champion Germany is placed in the Pool B of event. Current world number 2 Netherlands and eight-time champions India are also named in this group B along with Argentina, Ireland and Canada.

Pool A Pool B
Australia Netherlands
Great Britain Germany
Belgium Argentina
New Zealand India
Spain Ireland
Brazil Canada

Women’s Pools for Rio 2016

Women’s world number 1 and title defending champion Netherlands are placed in Pool A of field hockey at 2016 Rio. Holland to meet New Zealand, China, Germany, Korea and Spain in group A. World no. 2 Argentina are set to play Australia, Great Britain, USA, Japan and India in Pool B.

Pool A Pool B
Netherlands Argentina
New Zealand Australia
China Great Britain
Germany United States
Korea Japan
Spain India